Snapjax

By Snapjax

In a Barbie world

It was lovely to return to the Hyde Park Picture House today to see Barbie. I saw Bladerunner (Directors cut) here at a late night showing shortly after I arrived in Leeds in the autumn of 1990. A cinema since 1914 it closed for refurbishment in 2021 and has just re-opened with modern accessible facilities, a new cafe area and comfier seats. It retains much of it’s original charm, external ticket booth and gas-lit.

I enjoyed most of the film, it was gloriously pink and inventive, the audience made an effort in wearing pink and there was an expectation of fun. The story!! was bonkers, and I am not sure about the extended Ken action toward the end! Satisfactory but over-hyped.

Anyway it was lovely to return to the HPPH. It’s has lots of good film-going memories for me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.