Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Wind-down

Today began, like most Thursdays since lockdown ended, in the supermarket - though right now, early Thursday doesn't seem to be quite as good a time as it did. Not that it's busy, not at all, but the shelves are rather randomly needing stocked. I asked a supervisor and she told me they've taken on new staff and they're still slow/in training/whatever ... Doesn't explain the lack of Tropicana orange with Extra Juicy Bits and Ayrshire potatoes. Harrumph. 

Home to breakfast and the realisation that I was falling asleep where I sat after my last cup of tea, a situation  I threw some coffee at and managed to get some work done in the study before lunch. By the early afternoon the fine rain that was the morning's legacy of the downpour overnight seemed to have stopped. I drove round to Di's in Blairmore and we set off, without any of the dogs for which she is currently responsible, to walk north along the shore road. We were slightly alarmed to be passed by two huskies on the far side of the road, running in parallel as though harnessed to a sledge and vanishing towards Blairmore Pier. No-one seemed to know whose they were; no frenzied figure, with or without sledge, appeared along the road behind us. Cars were hesitating, going slowly past - but it seemed only a matter of time before something happened. 

However, it didn't. And we saw them - or one of them - in a fenced-off garden currently being dug up by a small digger as new people move into a derelict house along the road. There was also a black Alsatian of menacing demeanour, so we didn't hang around. The blip is the view from Di's front garden, looking past the palm tree up the Clyde towards Glasgow, which seems to be in sunshine. 

What had we talked about, other than dogs? We talked about the ways of men, the benefit of a reliable bestie, and the American navy years in Dunoon - that last because we stopped to talk to a neighbour and her friend was a submariner who had stayed behind.

And what have I achieved other than the week's shopping? A considerable achievement: I tidied up the desktop of my iMac. I'm proud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.