sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Long Hair

Number thirteen in my series The Regulars. Say hello to Long Hair.

Long Hair has two defining characteristics:

First, he has long hair. This is not evident from the photograph, but take my word for it, there's a ponytail back there.

Second, as you can see from the photograph, he has a lamp-post growing out of his head. Don't be fooled, this is not an optical illusion created by his walking in front of a lamp-post while I took the shot, he really does have a lamp-post growing out of his head. You can spot him a mile off. Literally.

Now it gets weird...

Needless to say (though I'll say it anyway) I have seen Long Hair many times. That's why he is one of the regulars. I had imagined that he worked in IT. Why? Simply because I have a male friend who has long hair and he works in IT. Therefore, I concluded that all men with long hair work in IT. (As the logicians amongst you will hopefully have worked out by now, this does not imply that all people who work in IT are men with long hair.) Occasionally, I noticed that he had a logo on his shirt but I never managed to get a clear view of it to see what it said. I assumed it was the logo of some IT company.

I blipped him this morning. Looked closely and discovered that I could make out the logo (I have blurred it on the picture you see above). It was an organisation I recognised. I googled them... went to their site... went to the "people" page... and there he is... Now I know his name, where he works, what he does. I daresay it wouldn't take too much effort for me to find out where he lives. With this shot, now that I know something about the real life of this fellow, my series of light-hearted (but somehow resonant...) blips feels like it has veered towards invasion of privacy. You will understand why I have blurred the logo. It just goes to show that there is a fine, and very indistinct, line...

Seriously running out of subjects for this series now. Perhaps that's just as well.

Not long till the weekend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.