While on my runs

By waipushrink

Claude

In 1907 on this day my father was born. His grandparents and great grandparents  arrived in New Zealand from Nova Scotia aboard the Breadalbane in 1857. He was the second eldest of ten. The family moved to a farm on Coromandel Peninsula when he was 5 years old. He created a sort of photographic memoir to give to me; not long before he died. To mark his birthday, I have photographed one page in that album, with two photos on it.

The top one was shortly after the first girl in the family was born. The photograph was taken in 1917, and I have no memory of having seen it before he gave me the little album. Claude is shown holding his baby sister.

The lower photo was taken outside my grandparents' home in Paeroa and shows the nine surviving children and their parents. A third girl died when 4 years old. Claude is shown standing beside his sister whom he had carried in the other photo.

He was a hard working and caring man who showed me the importance of being involved in committees, and helping others. Having the advantage (which he never had) of an almost free education, I became the first of my family to study at university. Since 'Rogernomics' took hold in New Zealand  in the 1980s young people either rack up a large debt or don't attend university.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.