Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Sunshine over Oban

A dry day today, so after some necessary 'office work' this morning I thought I should get some exercise and walk down to the town - I haven't done it lately. 

It seemed sensible to take a litter picker with me as I haven't done my usual round for a while. McCaig's Tower was fairly tidy, though mobbed with foreign tourists - I thought there must be a cruise ship in, but couldn't see one. Jacob's Ladder wasn't bad, until I looked over the fence - cans and bottles and carry-out boxes everywhere down the slope. Not only that, but since the distillery has cut down most of the trees on the bank the place is strewn with dead brown branches. I'm supposed to be staying positive, but why do people leave such a mess! Most of the rubbish over the fence is totally out of reach, so there's absolutely nothing I can do. It's private land too, so there's no point moaning to the council.

Had a nice chat with some German tourists and then with my neighbour Margaret, as all the tourists who walked by complimented her on her garden. I then came home and sat on the deck with a cuppa and a book, until the sun came back out and it got too hot! 

My Blip today is the view from Taylor's Brae over a big clump of Broad-leaved willowherb and the rooftops of Oban to the islands of Kerrera and Mull beyond. On the left is the old school, now the Rockfield Centre, with its somewhat unsympathetic extension! I'm not moaning, honestly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.