Blush response

By Esper

Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

On This Day In History
1967: The Doors score their first number one hit with Light My Fire

Quote Of The Day
"The future is uncertain and the end is always near."
(Jim Morrison)

Like most teenagers, I went through a phase where I loved The Doors and thought Jim Morrison was a god. Here I am, in 1984, wearing my The Doors T-shirt in Barcelona. I was never impressed by Morrison's drug and alcohol abuse - I've never been impressed by that kind of behaviour - but his free-wheeling, anti-establishment attitude and his lyrical prowess were seductive to a young teenager. It was only when I was in my late teens, older and hopefully a little wiser, and while reading Danny Sugerman's excellent biography No One Gets Out Of Here Alive, that I began to realise what a truly loathsome being Jim Morrison actually was. Great music, yes, but goodness me, what an arsehole! 

I thought it would be fun to re-enact that 1984 photograph today, 39 years later. I think you will agree, my heroes today are far more worthy of respect.

White Boys And Heroes

That Was Then, This Is Now (tissues at the ready for this wonderful fan-made video.)

Light My Fire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.