BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Vegetarian Experiments

As the urgency for climate action intensifies and most people seem to have an attitude of “it won’t affect me” I have become increasingly determined to do any small thing I can to help. We haven’t given up eating meat but the option to eat ‘mostly vegetables’ as encourages by Michael Pollen is something practical and also has the added benefit of being healthy.

So this week I planned to cook 4 vegetarian meals and we just finished the last one - to be honest I’m not really a fan of ‘meat substitutes’ so all these were purely vegetable based. Pictured here is a potato and chick pea curry with a topping of lime and fresh jalapeño Greek yoghurt - it was really delicious - though it doesn’t look particularly special here :). Other dishes included a very fresh tasting lentil dish, a Parmesan Cauliflower concoction and a polenta and broccolini dish. It has inspired me to continue to search out other flavour profiles and try to cook a majority of vegetarian dishes each week - we’ll see how that works when studying starts again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.