Everyday Life

By Julez

Tree Time 2023 Part 7

There is no doubt that this horse chestnut /conker tree is a truly magnificent specimen. It is probably the largest tree in the Arboretum. There is also no doubt whatsoever that I have bitten off far more than I can chew in choosing it for my tree project this year. It is too large, and surrounded too closely by other trees for me to take photos of it that are going to do it any justice whatsoever. 

With that in mind I decided to try something entirely different with this month's tree photo. I stood underneath the canopy and took my photo looking up into the tree instead. I'll enclose an extra I would have Blipped if it wasn't tree-time!

When my Dad first went into the home he asked me not to tell my cousin where he was as he did not feel up to a visit from him. This morning I had a call from my Aunt trying to find out where he was. Of course I had to respect my Dad's wishes and not say. I know it is not because they want to visit as they do not leave their home town these days. She said it was to send a card, but rejected my suggestion of sending it to my address as it "wasn't the same". Clearly she wanted the address for my cousin. I feel mean for not telling her, and she maybe does not believe it is at the request of my Dad - I can hardly tell her it is because he finds even five minutes of Dave's company exhausting. He would find him very hard to take at the moment!

I might ring back and say I will ask my Dad on Monday if he feels up to other visitors, or get him to speak to her on the phone himself then.

This morning Bri and I got a wash-load done and cleaned out the fridge which had become a health hazard. Brian does not eat a very varied diet and because there are things only I eat that I don't consume in quantities large enough to get through a whole jar, pack, bottle etc. before they go off there were quite a few off things in the fridge. A cat food pouch had also leaked onto a shelf - yuck!

After lunch we watched an excellent game of Rugby League featuring Wigan Warriors versus newly promoted and newly branded Leigh Leopards. I don't dislike Leigh. They have a flamboyant, wealthy owner who clearly loves the team and they are coached by our previous coach. Most newly promoted teams go straight back down but going into this game Leigh were second in the league, one place above us, and will also play in the final of the Challenge Cup after knocking the current Superleague champions St Helens out last week. So no-one was expecting this to be an easy fixture.

Wigan were knocked out of the cup last week so were up to put on a good performance this week. It was a fantastic game and Wigan dominated. The final score was 44 - 18, with two of Leigh's tries coming towards the end. A new player we signed scored on his debut and looks like he will be an asset for us and the usual bunch put in good performances too.

While I was out taking my tree photo, Grace arrived. I gave her her birthday presents once I was back, which she was happy with, and we had a bit of a catch-up. She's gone out now to catch up with some old friends she has known since she was at school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.