Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Andrea’s brooches

Carol was going to be late coming for cake, coffee and catch-up this morning so I had a quick de-clutter of the bottom drawer of the jewel box. This doesn’t contain anything of monetary value, only sentimental stuff like a chain with a bit of abelone which had been given to me by Mr C’s cousin when her mother died, a tiny box with the first cutting of my father’s curls, kept by his mum then my mum, now over 100 years old. I found a few single earrings and a Greek key design bracelet I bought on my first inter-railing trip to Greece. Among the clutter were these 2 pottery brooches made by Andrea over 40 years ago. The one of the left is the Simonside Hills with trees below.

#2 daughter and family arrived to pick up the van for their little trip to Ullswater. She and I had a chat while the boys sneaked off with Mr C’s iPad and Mr C reminded Phil about the intricacies of the van. The gas isn’t heating the water so Mr C is now on-line trying to find out possible causes - we’ll need it for our trip in September as we don’t often stay where there’s electric hook-up.

I’ve made a gooseberry cheesecake with our own crop for Lynne and Gavin tomorrow and also some gooseberry and elderflower ice cream.

Tonight we are going with Katy and Colin to Linda and Colin’s to eat. I expect Colin will be in mourning as one of the Eagles has died. I’ll be in mourning for Sinead O’Conner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.