CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A hen duck with four ducklings near Epney

Driving along a small lane with room for two cars to just about pass each other, I saw a duck in a large puddle beside the road. I realised that recent excessive rains had caused a ditch to flood.

I stopped and walked back towards the ducks which didn't run away.  The hedge beside the puddle had a bank within it and behind it was a farmyard. I think the ducks had taken the opportunity to explore more  this long stretch of puddles to introduce the young ducklings to finding food. The hen mallard was obviously nibbling under the water in the mud for either vegetation or for insect life.

Over the several minutes I watched them the family gradually moved towards me, seemingly unafraid, although I was scared for them by the intermittent passage of cars and farm vehicles.

At odd moments the hen moved onto the long grass on the hedge bank but always kept an eye on its progeny. Eventually they all climbed up through the grass and disappeared into the farmyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.