Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sunrise at Mensingebos

Yesterday Herman asked me if I wanted to go for a sunrise shoot. Sure! Even though it did mean getting up at 4.00 (otherwise known as Silly 'o Clock) to arrive at the scene at 5.00.

When we were looking for a location, I figured the woods would be a good idea, given it had been raining a lot. I thought there might be a chance of sunrays bursting through the trees. I looked around and suggested the Mensingebos in Roden. That was exactly the same location Herman had in mind!

We walked straight to the pond to see if we could get some reflection shots. I was also hoping for a bit of mist over the water and though there was a little bit of that, it wasn't quite enough for some great photos.

The pond is actually a kettle or "pingo pond": the remains of a retreating glacier. There are quite a few of those in the area around Frisia, Drenthe and Groningen.  In Dutch, these are called "pingo ruines".

It was fun capturing the trees and their reflections. Thanks Herman for the idea and for the company this morning. It was fun as always!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.