wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Barbie

An impromptu invitation to the cinema with my eldest daughter meant that I saw the box office sell out film 'Barbie', which wasn't really a film on my wishlist. Anyway, I loved it :-) lol! It was very funny, clever and carried some weighty, potent messages about gender roles, consumerism, perfectionism, ageing, human complexity, death and, surprisingly, mother-daughter relationships, which had me filling up a couple of times!!! Who'd have thought a Barbie film could be so meaningful in moments. It also gave me a good laugh and brought back a lot of nostalgia. I've gone from not wanting to see it...to wanting to see it a second time! The audience was very responsive (and included some real-life Barbies!) and the venue was terrific as always (genuine 1920s cinema). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.