There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Abstractions of the Cosmos

"You are comprised of:
84 minerals,
23 elements,
and 8 gallons of water
Spread across 38 trillion cells.
You have been built up from nothing by the spare parts of the Earth you have consumed, according to a set of instructions hidden in a double helix and small enough to be carried by a sperm. You are recycled butterflies, plants, rocks, streams, firewood, wolf fur, and shark teeth, broken down to their smallest parts and rebuilt into our planet’s most complex living thing.
You are not living on Earth. You are Earth." ~ Aubrey Marcus

I don't know what to say about this image except to say that I made it, like the Universe was made, out of water and light and air and maybe even fire. If you look closely, every tiny thing is marvelous. The bigger things, possibly even more amazing. But there are worlds within worlds within worlds, and all you can do is look and try to understand and appreciate and celebrate and enjoy.

I need a soundtrack song, and I've been waiting for a chance for this. Sinéad O'Connor passed earlier this week and I find I cannot for some reason speak much about her, except to say: Thank you for the music, beautiful, strong, strange, amazing girl. Here are my two favorite songs of hers. They belonged to somebody else until SHE sang them. So now, I bow my head, and I listen once more with my heart wide open. . . .

Sinead O'Connor: Nothing Compares 2 U
Sinead O'Connor: Sacrifice

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.