Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Rome

Arrived about 930 last night and was met by my friend and son. They’ve been very keen to host me since they left Athens unexpectedly earlier this year.
We had a leisurely breakfast, I finished some work stuff while my friend’s son did his piano homework. We set off about lunchtime, parked the car in Villa Borghese and walked to the Spanish steps, through the shopping areas, then to Piazza San Lorenzo where we stopped for the most delicious, most creamy ice cream. A favourite among locals - I had pistachio and chestnut. We relaxed in the church a bit and set off again to the Trevi Fountain and back around to Villa Borghese. We picked up her son and dropped him off for his piano lesson behind Vatican City. I’d no idea how big this city was until today. We parked the car very close to St Peter’s and I went for a quick visit. I’d forgotten what an amazing architectural and spiritual wonder it was. I wandered around just taking it in, enjoying the sounds of Mass. As I was leaving I turned around, listened, looked at the beautiful stained glass window that’s like a sun and felt at peace. A look at La Pieta, one of the most beautiful sculptures I’ve ever seen then back out to a busy reality. P and I walked some more, got her son and went home. Her husband was back too and we went to her local park for pizza for supper. Then queued for more ice cream nearby. Home and to bed. A long but enjoyable day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.