JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Butterflies before breakfast

The morning sunshine, with the blue sky which seemed to promise a beautiful day, did not last much beyond breakfast, so my planned walk didn't happen; I was glad I had tried a few quick butterfly photos before breakfast. I gave up quickly: it was too windy for either the buddleia or the butterflies to settle and be still, evenvery briefly. This is the best of a poor half dozen photos, but although I didn't manage to catch any of the four red admirals with wings outstretched, I do think the underside of the wing is both pretty and interesting - it reminds me of marbled endpapers in hand bound books.

After our Sunday waffles, I planned to help J with some outdoor sketching using the little Android tablet P has bought, which allows us to use the art software away from her computer. The darkening clouds and rising wind forced a change of plan, and by lunchtime steady rain had set in for the rest of the day. It has been a miserable July. J worked on a presentation about her animation, and I helped her use the exercise bike again. A quiet Sunday, but I'm very pleased to find J rediscovering the will and energy to work hard at something after the weariness and challenges of the past three years, and P, as always, looked after us both with delicious food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.