fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Blippers Do Barbie

I shocked myself by deciding I did want to go see the Barbie movie! But it was only after reading that it was being highly criticized by Fox News and the likes of Texas Sen Ted Cruz that my interest rose to the level of wearing pink and going! One criticism was the “Kens “ were not masculine enough and their was a transsexual playing one of the Barbies .in reality when actress Hari Nef was chosen they didn’t even realize she was trans . And how silly anyhow because none of the Barbies had reproductive organs -they are dolls! The main “stereotypical “ Barbie actually says “I don’t have a vagina”!
It was a mix of light weight doses of political jabs at our patriarchal male dominated system as well as an infusion of feminism in Barbie land that was refreshing . I grew up post the Barbie phase but still young. I never did care for Barbie dolls myself as they seemed so ridiculous looking … I felt they portrayed a terrible body image that young girls could never aspire to . That being said, Barbies were incredibly popular and Mattel is making sure they will make a comeback. Pre movie release I read they sold a ton of new “Ken” dolls which and his pal Allan too. So Mattel is making out!
Oh and it seems conservatives are flocking to the movie and enjoying it too …. Hmmmm.
I enjoyed sharing this more inclusive view of Barbiekand with Kendall, Ravens Roost , and BlueHeron and many many people in Pink!
Go to to see Kendal’s analysis. I tried to hit on other things to provide a variety

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.