Gloria's journal

By Gloriapatricia

Going to the Chapel

I didn't know until today that I was going to be on duty in the chapel renowned for its "trompe l'oeil" features.   I've never been there before. Apart from one large conventional altar painting everything is a visual illusion, My photo shot shows the entrance to the upper balcony where the family would have sat....a complete trompe l'oeil!  I shared my lack of knowledge of the chapel with the visitors and then we worked together to find answers to their questions.

One that stumped me completely....a little 5 year old girl asked why the "babies on the ceiling" (they were cherubs) weren't wearing pants.  I tried to explain that they were more like fairies than babies!  But no good...."I would be much happier if they were wearing pants" she replied before marching off. I shared tears of laughter with her parents.   What a pleasure to have such encounters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.