A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Not all feet up...

I promise I have been busy today working on my camper getting ready for this coming weekend.

However, the Para Swimming World Championships are on in Manchester and I have a small interest is today's events. Brock Whiston (as on TV) was competing in the SB9 100M breaststroke heats and final. 

Brock is my 3rd cousin once removed. I took her dad over to Flanders Fields a few years back to see the grave of his great grandfather. 

In today's final she missed out on a bronze by just 0.09 seconds and was coming in strong at the finish. Tomorrow she competes in the 200M individual medley (SM9 class.) 

Whatever the result she still currently holds the World Records in the SB8 100M Breaststroke and SM8 200M Individual Medley, something she has done since 2019. 

Just before the Tokyo Olympics her classification was change from SB8 to SB9 which meant she couldn't go although she had been selected. Now the classification has been sorted she is on the list for Paris. 

Naturally all this was done whilst listening to the final day of the Ashes test match... ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.