Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I've been to the cinema.

Can you guess what I saw? That's right, Oppenheimer ;-)

No. That's a lie, it was in fact Barbie and yes I did dress up – the whole pink regalia including ribbon (not around my neck as Veera is modelling it, but in my hair)
The wrestling boots plus cuddly cat backpack gave an overall slightly surreal ninja Barbie look which I rather enjoyed.
The film. Hilarious. Laugh out loud and snort like a pig hilarious – especially the opening sequence and the macho fighting Ken dance routine. 
All of the costume design is utterly perfect.

Yes the message is there, Barbie dolls were supposed to inspire little girls to dream big, and despite those little girls growing up with big dreams, modern society is still stacked against women. We haven't managed to achieve all the things that Barbie hoped we would.

The following could be deemed as spoilers


In BarbieWorld Ken is superfluous, irrelevant, and after he has become self-aware he feels hurt for being taken for granted. As soon as he raises that issue, Barbie gets it and apologises to Ken.
I found that quite a difficult moment, has anyone ever apologised for taking someone for granted?   Have you?   Have you ever received an apology?
By the end of the film Barbie accepts that not everyone has to be high-achieving and perfect, it's OK to be ordinary, but the final scene has me quite conflicted, so please help me out if you have seen the film yourself.
By “ordinary” is the suggestion that motherhood is “ordinary”?
In an “it's OK to “just” be a mum” kind of way?

Edit - Having percolated this for 24 hours I'm going to modify my interpretation of the Barbie Movie message to -
Mattel apologises for suggesting that motherhood is not an achievement in itself and now acknowledges that it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.