LesTension

By LesTension

IT'S NASCAR

It was a NASCAR weekend at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin U.S.A.  I've been on the computer all day editing a few thousand shots and geting some images ready for website upload....so I back Blipped this one from the weekend...just didn't have the time to shoot anything today.
~
This is Riley Herbst out of Las Vegas, Nevada turning the corner at 6 and heading for Turn 7.  There's a hard deceleration coming up a long hill and under the Corvette bridge and then a hard left turn and then hard acceleration. You'll notice the exhaust flames...on deceleration, unburned hydrocarbons (gasoline) are moving through the exhaust system and upon acceleration, the heat of the muffler causes them to combust.
~
I hear you motorheads out there......"WHAT MUFFLER?"  If you're standing 10 feet away from a NASCAR Xfinity car blowing past you at 100+mph you have every right to ask that question.  I've had a group of 5 or more pass me 6 feet away in Turn 5 and I could actually feel my liver quivering as they accelerated.  LOUD isn't close to describing the sound...I'll tell you how loud it is. I live 7 miles away and there's absolutely NO PROBLEM hearing them from that distance.  How loud is it?  DAMN LOUD!
~
Herbst qualified in 4th position and finished the race in 5th.  The race was won by a 20 year old driver in his first ever big time race.  His name is Sam Mayer and he's a Wisconsin native from the City of Franklin (a very rural "city") which also happens to be where I spent my youth.
~
2nd place went to Parker Kligerman, 3rd to Austin Hill.  It was a very dramatic final lap as the lead changed 3 times.  And the leader who lead for the vast majority of the race hit some oil dry chemical and spun out in Turn 5, I think, and was then several places back in the field.  Very disappointing day for him but a thrill for Sam Mayer. Great race...wonderful finish.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.