watching dry paint

By lensbrush

stuck mirror

many years ago I was given a Pentax SL slr. It has kicked around with my (very) modest old camera collection. Basically, anyone in the family who had an old camera would hand them on to me, as I was 'into photography'.
I had earmarked the Pentax to do some analogue film photography, but the camera needed a little TLC. I've discovered recently that the main issue was a sticking mirror. The other issue was, it didn't have an inbuilt light meter. (the next model, The Pentax Spotmatic, did) So recent technology to the rescue: Youtube has a list of videos about how to fix a stuck mirror in these late '60's SLRs, and the App Store had a bunch of free light meter apps.
I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to repair the fault, and I marvelled at the nuggetty mechanisms that control the mirror under the base plate. It all just works so efficiently. It gave my inner nerd a run for the morning.
The next step is to buy some film. I have to say that buying 35mm film after a 20-year hiatus will be a shock to the wallet. 

extra: said camera with makeover

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.