WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Hard!

No other word for it. The description, in my view, was understated, along with the gradient. The sign said 13%, the book averaged 14%. My front wheel was lifting. There was no respite. So you don’t have to suffer my moaning, I’ll cut it short and tell you I did get up it but it’s the closest I’ve been in years to getting off. 

The run along the ridge was pleasant and I considered myself fortunate that it wasn’t too hot and the rain stayed off (although I could see it in the distance).

I’ll also skip over the epic BMX style, steep, zigzagging, broken tarmac descent. The fascinating part of the ride, however, was seeing the working Pontcysyllte Aqueduct (pronounced Pont – ker – sulth – tay) at Trevor. I didn’t get the best of views through a broken gate but when I was back level with it on the other side, it was quite exciting to see a canal boat had just come through.

It was a very short, but epic, 11 mile ride and the few flat miles back to Beryl were heavenly!

I’ve been really impressed with the Dee Valley. Now, onwards, southwards! I’m trying out my first pub stop which so far is very good. Lovely staff and a fine Sunday Lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.