Blush response

By Esper

Good Morning, Mr. Breafast! Ha-ha!

On This Day In History
1776: Delegates sign the Declaration Of Independence

Quote Of The Day
"I wouldn't sell my bike for all the money in the world. Not for a hundred million, billion, trillion dollars!"
(Pee Wee Herman)

Yesterday my breakfast did not have a happy face because I read that one of the funniest, most original and unique comedians in the world had passed away. I mean, of course, the irrepressible Paul Reubens and, more specifically, his alter-ego, Pee Wee Herman.

To this day, Pee Wee's Big Adventure remains one of my favourite films, the result of three geniuses - Tim Burton, Paul Reubens and Danny Elfman - working at the peak of their creative powers, yet below the radar of studio executives who would undoubtedly have destroyed this masterpiece.

Pee Wee was always guaranteed to bring a smile and laughter wherever he appeared. That was the reason Paul Reubens created him; he wanted to make children and adults happy. And he certainly succeeded. It was typical of Reubens drive to bring happiness that, in the statement released after his death, he explained that he had kept his six year long battle with cancer a secret because he didn't want to make any of his fans sad. So, true to his wishes, I will remember him through all of the joy and laughter he bought to the world through his creations. Here is one that I watched for the first time yesterday which shows Reubens' mastery of improvisational comedy, honed after many years working with his group, The Groundlings (which included Elvira actress Cassandra Peterson among them):

Pee Wee With David Letterman

Let's enjoy my favourite scene from Pee Wee's Big Adventure:

I'm a loner, Dottie. A rebel.

Now, let's have some Tequila! (And look out for Elvira.)

Extra: The full moon that shone through my window at 3am, with Pee Wee Herman filters on. Good morning, Mr. Moon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.