WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Bryn Mawr

And what a beauty! I’d clocked this one for the description of not quite being a ‘big ring’ climb. For me, that was likely to mean you’ll be able to maintain a pretty good cadence in your very easiest of gears. And that I did. I didn’t just pick it for an easy ride after yesterday’s toughy though, but also because of the beautiful description which was absolutely spot on. I so wanted to stop for a photo on the climb up but I know if I start the rule of being able to get off when you know it’s a safe bet you’ll get up it, I’ll simply take forever, so for now, it’s a rule I’ll stick to. 

So, instead, there is likely to be a photo from the wild plateau where the weather started to turn very slowly (thankfully) for the worst. I’d woken up to beautiful blue sky but knew there was a chance of a shower at 10. 

Well!

By the time I’d reached the big descent it was persistent, let’s say. The descent was about four miles and it couldn’t have been better for the deluge that proceeded to hit me, face on. It was a wide, straight, main road but not too steep or busy. It required pedalling, not braking, which was ideal. The river I was surfing was creating waves over and down my back. It was hammering down! After a mile or so, I started to feel a stinging in one eye as my face cream or sweat, I’m not sure which, took out my eyesight. I kept it going by blinking for most of the way down as there wasn’t really anywhere to pull up safely. Luckily, a lay-by arrived just as the other eye joined in.

It was one of those moments when there’s nothing to do but laugh. As I pulled in to sort myself out, I could see small patches of blue breaking through the blackness as the rain began to ease.

I then had about ten miles to dry out in the headwind. Well, my windproof had dried out - everything else was sodden. I almost walked straight into the shower but got myself sorted, fed and tead first. The washing line came back out, which I fed around my park bench, and everything, including my sodden shoes, dried out fairly well from my pitch overlooking the sea (and westerly).

I’ve had a small shop restock and found a quiet glade of a campsite for £7! That just leaves me to stretch and eat and stretch and eat. Oh and have a little potter with the many bees and butterflies around the edge of the field. 

The sun is back out like nothing ever happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.