Melisseus

By Melisseus

Summer

It's not been much of a butterfly summer here, so far, but they have somewhat made up for it in the last couple of days, so I'm taking my chance for a butterfly photo while I can. The 'gatekeeper' (extra) seems to have done better than many species and this is its peak moment. Eggs will be laid in the next few weeks, and hatch into small caterpillars that hibernate over winter before continuing to feed on next spring's grasses. They will pupate in June/July and emerge as the next generation in July and August

The peacock in the main picture is one of the four species that over-winter as adults in UK, so they are often found in the house or garden shed on warm winter days. Occasionally, red admirals also over-winter as adults here - and perhaps that will increase as the climate heats up - but most are migrants from further south. Their caterpillars thrive on nettles - not too many in our garden, but an abundance just over the wall

The colours of the peacock are a nice contrast with the bright green leaf behind - but now I'm worrying that it might be ground elder; I'll mount a hunt in the morning

Edit; I just found this in the morning paper. You heard it here first  ;-)  I don't think I would say we have seen more this year, but survey stats are much better evidence

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.