This is the day

By wrencottage

Feeding the Family

Our middle son and his family will be returning from holiday on Saturday, so we’re busy preparing for their homecoming. I’ve done a couple of loads of washing for my daughter-in-law, and tomorrow we will start cooking so that there’s plenty in the fridge for their return. Smithers has also been popping back and forth twice a day to feed Watson, their beloved cat. 

Meanwhile, there are other creatures who also require regular feeds, and they’re a bit closer to home. The sunflower feeder was completely empty when I came down this morning, so I took the opportunity to bring it in and give it a good scrub and then disinfected it with veterinary spray. Once it was clean and dry I refilled it and hung it on the twisted hazel tree. Within seconds of me going back inside the house the blue tits were swooping down delightedly! The avian café also provides peanut granules and song bird seed mix, so our customers get plenty of variety and, in return, they feel like part of the family, and give us enormous pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.