David J. Rose

By djrose007

Memorabilia

Another bit that was found in the bottom of a box yesterday was this police shoulder patch.
Story goes something like this.
7 of us were on a seven week training course with ROLM Corporation in Santa Clara. A long story but we were working for the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Ministry of Foreign Affairs to install and maintain a number of communication and power systems in the embassies world-wide. We would be based at the regional centres (Washington, London, Dakar, Islamabad, Singapore) while myself and two others were based in Saudi. Me, initially, in Jeddah and then moved to Riyadh when the project manager left and I took over in the new ministry building in Riyadh (see extra, my office was to the left of that bulging front bit to the left of the entrance).
Anyway, I got back to the hotel a bit late after an evening in San Francisco. The car park was full due to a Porsche convention. I parked and went to bed. Next morning Laurie, in whose name the car was hired, found a parking ticket. I hadn't noticed the fire hydrant in the car park!
After about two weeks of him nagging and worrying I went to the police station to pay the fine.
He was worried that if it didn't get paid he might not be able to enter the USA in the future. It was US$12.00 for goodness sake HAHAHAHAHAHA
While my fine was being processed I asked if there was any chance of getting a shoulder patch for my son, Daniel, who was six years old and collected stuff like that. They said they couldn't get their hands on one just now but they'd speak to someone. Of course, I never expected to hear again.
Next morning the reception caught me in the lobby and said there was a message for me. They handed me an envelope and inside was, yes, the shoulder patch. There was a note too but I don't know what happened to that.
So it was worth going to the police station even if it was to pay a parking ticket!
There's an extra of something else we found. Two patches from Daniels School, SAIS - Saudi Arabia International Schools, British Section Riyadh. All this memorabilia turning up is very distracting from the task of clearing/tidying the attic! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.