paperTIGER

By papertiger

Tree hugger.

But the trees seemed to know me. They whispered among themselves and beckoned me nearer. And looking around, I noticed the other small trees and wild plants and grasses had sprung up under the protection of the trees we had placed there.

-- Ruskin Bond, Rusty


I cannot believe I haven't posted a good tree blip before. I honestly love trees. Last year I tried to stop some workmen from cutting down a tree outside my flat, but it was useless as no one from the council or the housing factor would take responsibility for having instructed the felling.

I was like a one-woman campaigning machine - I phoned everyone, I spoke to any one around who was wearing a high-vis vest; I even endured one of the guys telling me a very sorry story about his break-up that morning with his girlfriend followed by a traumatic bus journey and an argument with his boss (as he sobbed in to his hoodie). Needless to say, I wasn't feeling very sympathetic.

It was a beautiful leafy tree as well and the top came up to my living room window. It was one of the things that made me fall in love with the flat too. Tears of frustration were shed.

Not much time today to stop and breathe and notice the trees, but when I had a minute, I looked up ....

See up close

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.