Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Showers of rain and words on UK

I didn't count the showers of rain that we had today, they were many and often fierce. It's a pity that we have this weather now and no warm, sunny days of early August, of Summertime. Anyway, a quiet day it was.

From the newspaper I read the following words on England, UK spoken by a Dutch reporter, living 2/3 of her lifetime in London:

~ “I want to know what will happen to this country, which is really stretched and seems to be at the end of its ancien régime. After the financial crisis of 2008, so much has been cut short, that it is difficult for millions of Britons to get food on the table, they have to choose between: Heat or Eat!

'I recently made an interview for BNR and VRT, and spoke to people who – and this applies to one third of the British – cannot get hold of a dentist because too few dentists want to work for the low-paying National Health Service, the public healthcare. The real income of the average Briton is slightly below that of 2007.

“There is an atmosphere of despondency that I have never experienced here before. Expectations are low, if not minimal, as there is no hope of a change. The British do not believe that there is one political party that can tackle the big, present problems. The following election campaign will only deepen the division, I fear. In the short term I am not optimistic.”

Royal House or House of Commons?
“Can I swop Royal House for the House of Lords? Thus I have both Houses of politics. However, there's no topic I've talked about and written about as much as the royals, but that doesn't mean they interest me excessively. As a phenomenon, yes. But whether Prince William has indeed had an extramarital affair, who cares? That whole coronation too... Much more interesting is how relevant those royals still are, what does the young generation think? Whether or not Harry and Megan's marriage is on the brink, I don't give a damn."

“There is one character cliché about the Brits that I hold dearly: what is that they don't take themselves that seriously, let alone take life seriously! They think that's absurd. I think that's a nice quality, because the opposite is often: developing a big ego. I hate people with big egos who can't listen with interest to what someone else has to say."~  So far words from Lia van Bekhoven, reporter on UK for Holland and Belgium
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.