Flossmo

By Flossmo

Angel

Back blip for yesterday:

I got through some paper work first thing then spent an hour or two reading. It's a very special book, unpublished and written by a friend who has just spent the last five years undergoing a series of treatments for prostate cancer. The book is a detailed record of the physical and mental effects of the illness and of the treatment. Only a few of us have been supplied with an (e)copy. It's been a difficult and disturbing read but one I wouldn't want to have missed. There wasn't much I didn't already know, as he had talked to me about his illness at length over a period of time, but somehow reading about it was more shocking. What is amazing is how much he had documented about what happened to him and so was able to reassemble such a detailed narrative. I have a little more left to read but will definitely finish it in the next few days.

In the afternoon I met a fellow volunteer at the Cathedral Cafe in Guildford for a cup of coffee. It was a useful discussion. After we had finished I nipped into the cathedral itself to see an exhibition called Seahenge: A Journey; a mix of poetry and semi-abstract photography. It was pleasant to wander through the exhibition in the cool and quiet atmosphere. The blip is a close-up photograph of  one of the angels etched into the cathedral doors. I do like it.      

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.