Living my dream

By Mima

The final product…

…and early beginnings, in the extra.

It’s been a cheesy day. For a few weeks I’ve been wanting to cut into the Manchego-style cheese that I made in March. Other wheels have needed eating more urgently. 

But today was its chance to shine. And it certainly did. It’s a dense hard cheese with a tang similar to smoke. It’s another success from La Fromagerie Mima.

I had woken up with the urge to make a new cheese, specifically a Caerphilly. 

So after the morning chores I sterilised all the equipment and got started. The extra shows the curds being stirred for 40 minutes at 34C; a step which is about two hours into the process. By lunchtime the curds were transformed into something looking like a cheese, under 10kg in the press, where it remains until tomorrow morning, at which point I take it out to air dry for a few days.

Bean and I had an afternoon in the garden; line trimming, snoozing, pruning, snoozing, weeding and then going for the mandatory walk.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.