Wild Garlic or Ramsons

Photographed on the edge of Worsborough Dam lake yesterday. I've been meaning to take myself on a local walk to photograph this plant in flower but hadn't made it there - so these provided a welcome alternative (and the light on them was lovely). Yesterday was glorious and I stopped off for a walk after I'd had my hair cut in Barnsley. I don't think I've ever seen the Cow Parsley and Hawthorne hedges looking so glorious (my photos did'nt quite do it all justice so they didn't make the cut). The lake looked brilliant in the sun and I spotted the usual residents: black-headed gulls, Canada Geese (some with chicks), Mallards and a few terns. Also a Blackcap singing very sweetly in the bushes. I also spotted some very small tadpoles on the edge of one of the marshy ponds which says a great deal about the weather this year. They really were small - I'd guess they hatched a couple of days ago and it's the beginning of June!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.