Gaia's Child

By maura143

Hummingbird Moth

The Hummingbird moth is one of my very favorite insects of all time ! I don't often see them, not because they are so rare but because they're difficult to spot, especially in an area with very dense foliage, like our yard! I was in said yard this morning enjoying the use of my favorite macro lens when I spotted this beauty! I quickly slowly ran walked into the house to grab a longer lens. The HBM was enjoying some plumbago flower nectar and paid absolutely no attention to me as I gleefully snapped away! Probably took 200+ shots! The red coloration on this beauty identifies it as a Hummingbird clear wing, Hemaris thysbe. Here's a bit of info on this really cool pollinator: Hummingbird moth. Do take a look at the *extras for more photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.