This is the day

By wrencottage

Damp Day

A day of batch cooking followed by dealing with an emergency plumbing problem. 

I had just put a load of towels in the washing machine and headed off to the craft room, only to be called back by Smithers, who informed me that water was puddling on the utility room floor near the washing machine. He opened the under sink cupboard and, as he suspected, the spare detergent bottles in there were also sitting in water. We’ve had this problem before and it’s to do with a build up of soapy residue in the pipes – there’s nothing wrong with the machine itself. It’s quite a complicated beast of a machine, with a large dispenser for powder and liquid detergent sitting in the cupboard beside it, which it dispenses automatically into the machine according to the load. It’s almost ten years old and I love it.

Anyway, after I’d mopped up all the spillage and checked the filter (fine) I set the machine off again, and there was no drama this time. I’ve given it a good hot wash to clear through the pipes and must remember to do it more often. Too many low-temperature washes, even though they are eco-friendly, are not actually good for washing machines or dishwashers, the engineer told me last time it happened. So be warned, blippers!

Here’s a damp photo for a damp day, in more ways than one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.