LesTension

By LesTension

HAVING FUN......UNTIL!

I was at Road America again today for Day 3 of the IMSA race series...how unusual for me to be at the track!  I'll be there again Sunday for all the hoopla after the races.  My weatherman lies all the time so I can't really trust him out of pure faith...BUT, he says the rains scheduled for most of Sunday (80% chance) have been pushed back farther into the evening hours.  IF the prediction holds true, the race gods will be smiling as the bulk of the important races will be over by 17:00 hrs.  Fingers crossed....although my gear is pretty much water-proofed I don't like tempting fate and I can't afford any down time for repairs.  So I'm hoping he's right and, if he is, I'll praise him publicly.
~
In addition to all the racing today the fans also engage in lots of games, especially the kids whose Geduld (sitzfleisch, patience) is poorly developed, are easily bored and take to doing "other" things......like flying kites on the inside of Turn 5.
~
These kids were no rookies at kite flying...they knew what they were doing and were having a kite dogfight.  They were very good diving and rising and getting close but not too close to each others "bird."  They were having a great time and putting on a good show....until the "eye in the sky" saw the kites.
~
There are security cameras all over Road America and I'm here to testify to the fact that there's not one square centimeter of track area that race control and security cannot see.  The chief security officer saw those kites and instantly visualized a kite coming down on track and causing a crash...so some members of the security patrol were dispatched forthwith to tell the kids that the flying of kites is forbidden and they needed to cease and desist.
~
I know the guy who got that dirty job.....he has 17 grandchildren and 15 of them are boys.  It was hard for him to tell the kids...I could see it in his face.  He was almost as disappointed as the boys were.  But kites are just wind powered drones, right?  And drone usage is similarly forbidden as a drone might distract a driver and cause a crash. So it had to be done....but it's an unpleasant task, nonetheless.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.