analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Deco. Leica-Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

Yesterday, I took down a long-shelved little book from 1984 listing all the different Leica cameras and lenses and their years of production.  Out tumbled a rather lovely chocolate wrapper printed with a beautiful Art Deco font.  I had saved it because the earliest Leica cameras from the late 1920s through the mid-1930s were engraved with just such a Deco font, and I had wanted to explore the connection.  Today, I set about photographing the wrapper from this German company with a long and distinguished history- of which more here.  Then I photographed the exquisitely engraved top plate of my 1936 Leica IIIA, made by another German company with an even more distinguished and storied history. Allow me to share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.