JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Finally finished

It was another miserably wet day, though the rain was not as heavy as Friday's, so I didn't go out. I managed a few indoor jobs, including making summer pudding with some of our berries - red and blackcurrants, saskatoons and raspberries - but realised as the light faded that I had not photographed anything, so the socks were a low light afterthought. I was pleased to finish knitting them in the car on Thursday, grafted the toe and darned in the ends on Friday, and am looking forward to wearing them when the weather gets even more miserable. Every pair I make is a little longer than the last, as the long ones, for me, are the most comfortable to wear. I had been knitting these for a couple of years, I think, as I knit mainly during car journeys, which are currently very infrequent. I'd love to do more, but it's hard to find time. Socks are a conveniently small project to carry around, and I enjoy knitting them: even after lots of pairs, there's always something magical about the shaping which forms a heel, and I enjoy seeing the colour mixes and stripes created by variegated sock yarn. This one was a gift from J's lovely PA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.