SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Harrop

After a 3-way conversation between Australia, Norwich and Cumbria sorting out logistics, I took advantage of the break in the relentless rain and worked in the garden until the early afternoon when I went up to Harrop which I haven’t done for the longest time. I was surprised to see that the heather is well on its way, making it feel even more autumnal. 
The Utilities have got the audacity of charging for parking in spite of having closed the road for so long and planning to close it permanently but luckily a couple gave me their ticket as they were leaving. 
Once up at the tarn a man passed me on his way to up to Blea Tarn to go fishing. He complained about the road closure and went on to talk about the nonsense of the climate crisis talk, the nonsense of all the Covid restrictions, the nonsense of lots of other things, and kept going as I was walking away. He reminded me of the Ken’s playing their guitars in Barbie.
The tarn was beautifully still with lots of fish rising and both yellow and white lilies were still out. I half wished I’d bought my swimming gear.
More rain as I headed back.

This evening I’ve had an email from my old landlord saying he’s been to the old cottage (nearly two years on) and there’s post there and asking me for my address so he can drop it off. I felt sick just seeing his name in my inbox, let alone the thought of him calling by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.