watching dry paint

By lensbrush

time to fly

My major connection to Saddleworth is about to fly the coop. For the last twelve years; pretty much the entire time I've kept a Blipfoto journal, my mother and sister have lived there. I've gotten to love this small modest country town. Watched on the side as it ebbed and flowed with the fortunes that most small country towns have to live with. I've made friends there and even rented weekenders for extended periods.
My elderly mother feels that it is time to downsize. She is up for the move, but it will take her away from the little community that she has become an integral part of, even though at the start she was an out-of-towner, like every other 'blow-in'. I know she will be missed.
She is moving to a larger regional centre two hours' drive away, in what will be fundamentally a suburban street. There is rurality nearby, but not so charming. (Although Murray Bridge is right on the mighty River Murray.) 
I will keep visiting Saddleworth as there are friends there. But I can see a major pivot away from that shared sense of community.

extra: crusty yellow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.