around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Flyby

A bit of idle pottering about in the garden was abruptly interrupted by the distinctive sound of old prop-driven aircraft. Seconds later a Spitfire and a Hurricane, flying fast and low, appeared over the rooftops, flew over the gardens and disappeared over the terrace at the back, in one of those 'blink and you'll miss it' moments when something so unexpected happens you almost wonder if it did.

Hoping they'd reappear I dashed in and grabbed the camera and an appropriate lens, and had just enough time to attach lens to camera before they came back across for a second pass. I'm not particularly an aircraft buff but I have to say that seeing, and hearing, these flying over the houses made me stop in my tracks and made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.

(They were not, of course, flying about purely for my benefit, but actually for the crowds at the nearby County Show on the showground)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.