One of the first walkers avoids a soaking in the foot section of this year's Highland Cross charity biathlon event. The event involves a ~20 mile walk (start at 9:00) or run (start at 11:00), followed by ~30 mile cycle, starting on the West coast at Morvich, crossing the Highlands to the East coast at Beauly. It has been one of the most successful events for raising monies for local charities for many years. I did it in 1990, 1995, 1998, and 2003. Walked the first year, and ran the others.

Near flat calm and overcast, ideal midgee conditions, required a different ploy for taking photos this year - keep moving! Didn't use the D700 and telephoto lens this year, which was a mistake, as the D300 isn't as good, and the lens on it didn't focus fast enough to keep up with the runners that came by later. Heavy rain had me deciding to pack everything up and head back before everyone had passed by. At the end of the day, I must have walked as far as the competitors walked or ran, plus I was carrying a load of heavy gear. Perhaps should have trained for months like most of them will have.

Being a fussy git, was disappointed with the results, though most wouldn't notice much wrong with photos on the Internet. Didn't ever finish off the editing of the whole lot. With not finishing, I couldn't decide what to use for a Blip, but just over ten years later, and noting this 'Blip-gap' could be plugged, I'm using the cover photo I  chose for partial web album for the day.

I should finish off the rest... and those from a few other old events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.