ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Take Me Home, Country Roads

To get to my house from this junction, I would normally take the road on the left, just before the white house at the top of the photo. In other words, about 100 yards and a few seconds from lights to turning. But the good people from Cadent have decided to implement four way temporary traffic lights and a one way system. Not only have I had to queue from the by-pass to get to this point but, even after I’ve gone through the lights, I then have to go halfway round Kendal to get to my house.
Still, this hasn’t been the worst traffic problem today. I was on my way to Barrow and came across a very slow moving queue of traffic, caused by - as far as I could tell - an altercation between a car and a lorry. Nobody seemed to be hurt but, just as I was about to squeeze past, the Police arrived and closed the road. Fortunately, I was at a point where I could dive off to the right and take to the back roads - followed by a lot of the people behind me!
In order to get back on track, I had to go down some very narrow, steep and windy roads and it was on the steepest and windiest of these that our little convoy met a van coming the other way. He refused to back up and wanted me to back on to the little bit of verge that there was, so he could pull forward and then hopefully I could get past followed by all the cars behind me. After a quick recce to confirm the ground wasn’t too boggy, I did the manoeuvre and squeezed past, though not without a lot of wheel spinning and mud churning - without the limited slip diff in my BMW I doubt I’d have got moving again once the rear wheels were off the tarmac. I do wonder if the rest of the cars behind managed to get through as well, because I didn’t see anyone behind me for the next few miles!
We’re off to Chester tomorrow. Let’s hope the motorways are a bit more free flowing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.