AMealIAteToday

By AMealIAteToday

Ribs

Barbeque pork ribs, collard greens with niter kibbeh and mitmita spice blend, and a papusa.

This was all quite excellent. I went international with my sides to good effect. Rather than standard collard greens cooked slowly with some manner of rendered pig fat (delicious, of course), I made them in an Ethiopian style. I particularly had fun making my own niter kibbeh (seasoned clarified butter) and spice blend, but I had to track down some unusual spices not even in my eclectic cabinet. While I already had ajwain, cardamom, coriander, chilis, and nigella seeds, I did not already have (nor had I heard of) koseret or besobela. Also instead of standard cornbread, I made papusas - a Salvadoran favorite that I haven't made in a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.