While on my runs

By waipushrink

Too big

That's the thought I had when a huge truck came slowly around the corner outside my office window. It was carrying a full load of wooden pallets, and towing a long trailer with a large iron something for a new bridge over the railway lines. 

The driver inched around the corner, managing to get the truck safely around. He then millimetred further forward intending to tow the trailer safely around. The angles didn't work out as he wanted. The side of the trailer and the large iron object met the fence (seen beyond the trailer). In such a way the truck was unable to go forward or back without destroying the fence (and possibly other bits).

The driver is wearing a green top. He is sitting where he had spent many minutes trying in vain to use some gadget and shift the iron object away from the fence. The construction workers (orange tops)gathered and at one point a supervisor joined them. It seemed that she made sure that the driver knew that damaging anything other than his truck was not on.

So the construction fellows brought in a piece of equipment to try and pull the iron object off the fence. It failed to budge anything. Next thing I saw was that they were using an oxy-acetylene torch to cut one of the girders, and then there was enough movement. 

All of this was while I was enjoying  being distracted from my cheese roll. I was called away brief;ly and I cam out to see the truck and trailer in a straight line pointing down the narrow lane. 

Ah!  But he had to back up the lane on the other side of the corner. I wasn't able to watch the whole thing. Only looked intermittently. The first part of the lane was straight, and then in a narrow space he had to change direction slightly. The poor man went back and forth many times, and then suddenly the truck was driving away.

It wasn't too big after all.

(I hadn't noticed when taking photos that my reflection in the windows was also captured)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.