The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Monday 7th August 2023)

When I pulled into the right-hand side lay-by at the bottom of Caen Hill, a car pulled out and then decided to re-park in the space I was already entering, causing a long delay until his passenger caught up, got in and they dove off. Later, in Morrison's car park as I was reversing into the correct lane a small van turned in towards the same outward lane, also thus blocking me as well as the traffic on his road, and then leaving it for me to extract myself by twisting around his far side, which I only just had room to do, learning more about Buzz's dexterity. People.

In between time I had a walk up the Caen Hill flight, taking pictures using my traditional red/yellow two-camera combo, and stopping for half-an-hour to do some reading, as it is theoretically August. I couldn't find the swan family but I did see a heron silently fishing, too far away to get a sharp picture. There was very little wildlife around, but very many dogwalkers.

I edited and processed all the images yesterday evening but by the time it was done I had no time left to choose which image to use for blip. This one shows some wildflowers in a canal setting, so I am including it for Miranda1008's WFW, with thanks. In Extras is a bee (or hoverfly?) on a flower. The whole set is below.

L.
Tuesday 8.8.2023 (1719 hr)

Blip #3933 (#3683 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2023 #139/265 + #075/100 Extras
Day #4881 (1138 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3073 (#2913 + 160 in archived blips)

Caen Hill series
Canals series
Flora series
Wildflowers series
Landscape series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Caen Hill, 7 August 2023 (Flickr album of 20 photos)

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Ella Guru - Augustus Golden (2005)
When on Sunday Gideon Coe played a Radio 2 session version of this from 2004 it sent me back to my own collection to dig out the CD singles I have by them, including Augustus Golden, which I'd discovered on a cover disc with issue 21 of the excellent magazine Word. I probably have more records by Ella Guru than most. They were a Liverpool based band whose name derived from a song on the Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band album Trout Mask Replica. The Magic Band's sometime drummer Jimmy Carl Black, formerly with Frank Zappa's Mothers of Invention, sang guest vocals on two of Ella Guru's records whilst he was based in Liverpool as a member of Muffin Men, though musically Ella Guru couldn't be less like either Beefheart or Zappa's bands. The singer on this track is Kate Walsh. They were untroubled by commercial success, as far as I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.