Blips by cb

By cbimages

Testing, testing

An excuse for a photo: I read someone's complaint on FB that his zoom lens was soft, so I felt it necessary to go into the garden and snap this flower outside the front door with my new camera – with the same lens mounted.  I've fiddled with the sharpening and structure in my computer, but the basic sharpness is there.  So I'm happy . . .

Mrs B cannot remember the name of the yellow flower, though. EDIT: it's a marigold.  She thought that I was referring to another large yellow flower in the same bed and assumed that I would remember a marigold (!). She bought it from a local plant nursery that was shutting down, last year.  The owner and her daughter had kept the nursery going after the death of husband/father as a matter of duty.  They felt that he would have wanted them to do so.  But the work was rather too much for them and its position outside a small village on the boundary between Dorset and Somerset (South Perrott) meant that it was difficult, I think, to get customers to visit.  I note that it's still on the map, though: Pickett Lane Nursery.

So, can anyone enlighten me?  What is the flower?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.