Melisseus

By Melisseus

Perspective

Something went wrong when I took this, but I decided its blue hue was an adequate reflection of my day - and that is what blip is about for some of us. I have barely been out of bed, and MrsM has barely been out of hers. I can't ever remember us both being so ill together before

This is the view from her room. It's unremarkable in this shot - one day I'll do better - but it's charming in its way. The distant wood was planted in the weeks after we moved here, 10 years ago, by the Woodland Trust. They sold it to a private buyer, wrapped around with conditions and commitments, and the new owners have done an excellent job of maintaining and nurturing it, as well as engaging with walkers who use the footpath through it, with informative signs and background about the native trees grown there. They have called it "Ale Wood", in recognition of its position overlooking the brewery

The larger trees on the left are even bigger than they appear. Between us and the little bit of pasture peeping out behind the roof is a steep little valley with a stream flowing down it. The trees are rooted beside the brook, so their trunks are much longer than you would guess. In a strong wind, this becomes clearer as they sway and thrash around, which is disconcerting until you realise what is happening

Today I managed to distract myself with a little news. I read about a brave Catholic priest who is managing to bypass the road-blocks to reach a beseiged community in the Ethiopia/Tigray/Eritrea borderlands, bringing in what medicines and food he can, against the wishes of the occupying troops. Still, he manages to negotiate with them sometimes, bribing them with livestock, grain, and pots of honey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.