Teasel

By Teasel

Outfitters

We had a slow start to the day.  I had a really good sleep, and woke up early so read my book.  BB wasn’t happy, as he couldn’t sleep for TT’s snoring.  The joys of all sharing a room!  We went in search of some provisions for breakfast and for lunch.  We found an M&S nearby.  If only we’d known about it last night.  It was still raining, and it definitely didn’t feel like a summer day.  Once we were stocked up, we set off on the rest of our journey to Devon.  It rained the whole way and we made rather slow progress.  We stopped at services to make use of the facilities, but we enjoyed out M&S lunch in the car, looking out at the rain.
 
Our holiday cottage is near Axminster.  We got there early, so drove into the town, parked up and went for a walk in the rain.  It was truly miserable.  We were glad to get to the cottage to dry off.  We unpacked and settled in.  Later BB and I drove back into Axminster to get a few provisions from the supermarket and also to pick up some fish and chips for tea.  The portion sizes were enormous – especially BB’s.  There were enough chips to feed an army.    Later we all watched Paddington and I finished my book.  Yet again I struggled to get ten thousand steps, but just made it, but walking around the house a few times. 
 
The weather is terrible – wet and very wild.  It can only get better!  I wanted to start my new book, but couldn’t keep my eyes open, so had an early night.
 
On a most miserable day, I was very short of blip opportunities.  While we were waiting on our fish and chips, I wandered along the road (in the rain) and spotted his old sign, forever left in the entrance way to a shop.  It is now a hair salon, but a bit of googling reveals that McNeil’s was a ladies and gents outfitters.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.