David J. Rose

By djrose007

And the memories just keep coming

First of all - apologies for lack of commenting. So, so, busy, usually until late into the evening.

Two photos, one especially for the photographers amongst us in the EXTRA. I don't have to give it a description, but it is very, very, old (by modern standards!).
The main photograph shows that Marlane and I have been sitting reading through old letters.
I brought down 3 or 4 more boxes from the garage attic. Another big load of children's books but also lots of memorabilia, including two more boxes, yes boxes, of letters!
While I was going through one box, which was letters from myself to Marlane and Daniel during December 1981 through to April 82 (Johanna and Julia were just a twinkle in our eyes at this time). You can see the address, and I used to write United Kingdom (Mumlika Brittania) in Arabic at the bottom.
I also used to add some art to my letters, well I thought my little drawings at the end were quite artful. They were mostly to give Daniel a laugh. He was 4 when I departed to take up my job with Lockheed 15 December 1981. Some of the letters describe the preparations I was making, and the official tangles involved, in arranging them to come out for a months visit to Riyadh.
The other letters were from Daniel, writing to me when I was away in Santa Clara Jan/Feb 1984. He was only six and his writing was pretty good, it's improved even more in the past 40 years since then.
Meanwhile, Marlane was reading letters I wrote to her (Daniel was a twinkle) from Gan, Maldives 1975-76. She commented "So you did love me back then". I made the correct response that I still do, of course!
Quite a fascinating look back at our lives, apart from the bit when I promised "We would never be separated again". After Saudi, I returned to the UK Nov 1989, got the job with Nortel and commuted at the weekends from Maidenhead for almost 10 years, and then officially got Home Working for the next 9 years until Redundancy and self imposed retirement, well I was 60. So much for promises!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.