springlilly

By springlilly

Chaos

I had a lovely day out at the Royal Dublin Horse Show. The main blip, plus the chestnut in the extra illustrates some of the chaos that ensued in the collecting arena before the loose jumping of the 3 year old potential event horse competition, I won't go into details but all hell broke out & the gelding in the main blip got loose. I have sent an email to say how dangerous the situation became, to the "powers that be" & they need to reduce the risks next year.
The grey Connemara stallions (in the 2nd & 3rd extras) are displaying high jinks (& was in a completely separate class), but didn't break free, thank goodness, as that would have been total carnage.
I love horses & horse sports & know there is always a risk with animals, but better there has to be a safer way of running the 2nd part of the 3 year old potential event horse class.
I must check who won it, as I had to leave before it finished.
Update, the main blip, No. 581 was last (17/17) & the chestnut, No. 589 was 2nd last 16/17, probably the right standings, as they created chaos for the other exhibitors & I really liked the winner & it's exhibitor even stopped behind some little girls for their Mum to get a photo of them in the context of the show, all very safe, as there was a good fence between them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.